German AppleChip Cake

Why no, that is not a donut (doughnut?) but a beloved bundt cake. Well, beloved by me. Growing up my Mom would make it occasionally, and though I vaguely remember being turned off by the chunks of apples when I was younger, (fruit ≠ dessert) they totally do it for me today.

AppleChipcakemixlgdThe sweet apples and warm cinnamon smack of fall. Being subtly sweet, in bundt cake form, and devoid of frosting this is the perfect cake to have in the morning with a cup of coffee.  Side note, for some reason whenever a cake is a bundt cake, I assume it can also be eaten for breakfast/as a snack. No idea why. I live by this rule though and it hasn’t failed me yet.

Every time I have taken it somewhere, be it work or a friend’s house, it has gotten rave reviews. In Italy, when I didn’t always have access to chocolate chips, I chopped up a Ritter Sports bar (Dark Chocolate, which is called Fondant in Italian, and confused the hell out of me) and threw it in, no regrets. I took it to work the next day and a few people asked for the recipe, which is always a good sign. So I say you can use whatever chocolate you choose, though chocolate chips are probably the easiest to use.

My Mom was given this recipe by a co-worker (noted in the corner of my copy of the recipe as Cathy) while living in Germany in the late-80s, which is why we call it German Apple Chip Cake. Not sure how German it actually is,but shout out to Cathy because I’ve grown up with this cake and it is delicious.

DSCN3040

Not only is it delicious, but it is totally customize able. While I baked it from scratch, you can also sub a yellow cake mix+ 1 teaspoon of cinnamon for the dry ingredients. No apple cider? My mom also notes you can use apple brandy or apple schapps.

If you find you need a fall dessert, or fun treat to bring to brunch, but aren’t ready to bust out the pumpkin quite yet (I’m not), try this cake. You won’t regret it.

ACCSLICELGD

 

German AppleChip Cake

  • Servings: 8 slices
  • Print

Credit=My Mom

Ingredients

  • 3 Eggs
  • 1/2 cup apple juice/cider/apple brandy/schnapps
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 3 cups All Purpose Flour
  • 1 3/4 cups granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3 cups of chopped apples (for me this was 3 gala apples, use whatever apples you like!)
  • 1 Cup Chocolate Chips
  • Optional: 3/4 cup chopped nuts, powdered sugar for dusting

 

Directions

Preheat your oven to 350°F.  Grease and flour a bundt pan or 9×13 cake pan. I, per usual, used Baker’s Joy.

In a large bowl beat eggs slightly. Add oil, apple juice and vanilla. Mix until just combined. In another bowl, combine flour, sugar, cinnamon, baking soda and salt. Gradually add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and mix until smooth. Stir in chocolate chips, apple chunks, and nuts, if using.  Pour into your chosen pan and bake. A bundt pan will need 65-75 minutes (I took mine out at 70 minutes) and a 9×13 will need 35-40 minutes to bake,

Once cooled, turn your bundt onto a plate and dust with powdered sugar. If using a regular cake pan, just dust once the cake is cooled.

 

 

4 thoughts on “German AppleChip Cake”

Leave a comment